Formed in 2010 in Los Angeles, top prizes in 61st ARD Munich and 2012 Hamburg competitions. In residence at Lincoln Center’s prestigious CMS Two program.

Jeffrey Myers - violin     Jeremy Berry - viola
Ryan Meehan - violin     Estelle Choi - cello

One of the most exciting young ensembles to emerge on the chamber music scene in recent years is the Calidore String Quartet, noted for its fiery brilliance, musicianship, and palpable energy. Formed in 2010 at the prestigious Colburn Conservatory of Music in Los Angeles, the Calidore String Quartet has been described as “a miracle of unified thought” (La Presse, Montreal) and as “four highly intelligent, deeply sensitive virtuosos” (Strings magazine). Using an amalgamation of “California” and “doré” (French for “golden”), the ensemble’s name represents a reverence for the diversity of culture and the strong support it received from its home of origin, Los Angeles, California, the “golden state.” In 2016 the Calidore Quartet made international headlines as the Grand-Prize winner of the first M-Prize International Chamber Music Competition in Ann Arbor, Michigan, the largest prize for chamber music in the world (U.S. $100,000). Other major highlights of 2016 included being named a BBC New Generation Artist for the 2016-18 seasons and becoming the first North American ensemble to win the Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship. In 2016 the quartet began a three-year residency with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center Two. 2nd LMMC appearance.


MENDELSSOHN   String Quartet in D major, Opus 44  No. 1
(1809-1847)                   Molto allegro vivace
                                       Menuetto: Un poco allegretto
                                       Andante exressivo ma con moto
                                       Presto con brio

JANÁČEK               String Quartet No. 1  'Kreutzer'                                  
(1854-1928)                   Adagio - Con moto                                      
                                       Con moto
                                       Con moto - Vivace - Andante
                                       Con moto - Adagio

BEETHOVEN         String Quartet in F major, Opus 59 No. 1
(1770-1827)                   Allegro
                                       Allegretto vivace e sempre scherzando
                                       Adagio molto e mesto
                                       Thème russe: Allegro