American string quartet known for its virtuosity and daring repertoire. Has 2009 Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music Performance.

Simin Ganatra - violin    Masumi Per Rostad - viola
Sibbi Bernhardsson
- violin      Brandon Vamos - cello

The Pacifica Quartet enjoys international stature as one of the finest ensembles of its kind performing today. It has toured extensively on four continents and is recognized for its virtuosic approach, exuberant style and often daring repertory choices. It currently serves as the quartet-in-residence at Indiana University, a position it formerly held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York (2009 – 2012). Prior to its appointment to Indiana University, the Quartet was on the faculty of the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana for ten years. It also serves as resident performing artist at the University of Chicago. Formed in 1994, the Quartet quickly began winning the top chamber music competitions, including the 1998 Naumburg Chamber Music Award. In 2006 the Quartet was featured on the cover of Gramophone magazine and heralded as one of ‘five new quartets you should know about’, the only American quartet to make the list. In 2009, the Pacifica was named Ensemble of the Year by Musical America; also that year it received a Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music Performance.

LMMC return engagement.


RAVEL                          String Quartet in F major
                                              Allegro moderato: Très doux
                                              Assez vif: Très rythmé
                                              Très lent
                                              Vif et agité

SHOSTAKOVICH        String Quartet No. 7, Opus 108

BEETHOVEN               String Quartet in B flat major, Opus 130/133
                                             Adagio ma non troppo - Allegro
                                             Andante con moto, ma non troppo
                                             Alla daza tedesca: Allegro assai
                                             Cavatina: Adagio molto espressivo
                                             Große Fuge  Overtura: Allegro - Fuga:
                                                                     Meno mosso e moderato
                                                                     Allegro molto e con brio
                                                                     Meno mosso e moderato
                                                                     Allegro molto e con brio