Photo credit:
Shayne Gray

Martin Beaver - violin      Clive Greensmith - cello
Jon Kimura Parker - piano

Canadian violinist Martin Beaver, British cellist Clive Greensmith and Canadian pianist Jon Kimura Parker came together as a trio in 2013. Two years later, the Washington Post declared that the ensemble was “poised to become one of the top piano trios in the world.” Individually each is an accomplished soloist with an impressive career to his credit. Together they offer the world a special musical experience.
As one of Canada’s leading ambassadors of music, Parker has given command performances for Queen Elizabeth II, the United States’ Supreme Court and the Prime Ministers of Canada and Japan. He is an Officer of the Order of Canada, his country’s highest civilian honour.

Martin Beaver and Clive Greensmith are both former members of the renowned Tokyo String Quartet. During its 43-year history, this quartet collaborated with a remarkable array of composers and artists, including Jon Kimura Parker.

As a soloist, Beaver has appeared with dozens of orchestras worldwide, including the Montreal Symphony. He was a top prize-winner at the international violin competitions in Indianapolis, Montreal and won a silver medal at the Queen Elisabeth Competition in Belgium.

Clive Greensmith was principal cellist of London's Royal Philharmonic Orchestra before setting out on a career as soloist and chamber musician.

3rd LMMC performance.


DVOŘÁK      Piano Trio in E minor, Opus 90,
(1841-1904)     ‘Dumky’ (1891)

                           Lento maestoso - Allegro quasi doppio movimento -
                           Tempo I - Allegro molto
                           Poco adagio - Vivace non troppo -
                           Poco adagio - Vivace
                           Andante - Vivace non troppo - Andante - Allegretto
                           Andante moderato (quasi tempo di marcia) -
                           Allegretto scherzando - Allegro - Moderato
                           Allegro - Meno mosso - Più mosso (Allegro)
                           Lento maestoso - Vivace, quasi doppio movimento -
                           Lento - Vivace

SCHUBERT  Piano Trio in B flat major, Opus 99,
(1797-1828)     D. 898 (1827)

                          Allegro moderato
                          Andante un poco mosso
                          Scherzo: Allegro
                          Rondo: Allegro vivace