Lithuanian-born violinist, violist and conductor, resident at the Vienna Musikverein 2014/15. Leads the Julian Rachlin and Friends Festival since 2000. Acclaimed recordings for Sony. LMMC debut.
Julian Rachlin is one of the most exciting and respected violinists of our time. For a quarter of a century now, he has been captivating audiences around the world with his distinctively rich sound, superb musicianship and outstanding interpretations. Mr. Rachlin was born in Lithuania and moved to Vienna in 1978. At the age of fourteen, he became the youngest soloist ever to perform with the Vienna Philharmonic.
The recordings he has made for Sony Classical, Warner Classics and Deutsche Grammophon, including the concertos of Brahms, Sibelius and Tchaikovsky, have all met with critical acclaim. Always willing to expand his musical horizons, Mr. Rachlin is also known as a violist and, more recently, as a conductor. Since 2000, he has been leading the internationally renowned Julian Rachlin & Friends festival in Dubrovnik, Croatia, a platform for creative and vibrant projects with leading musicians and actors. Julian Rachlin plays the 1704 ‘ex Liebig’ Stradivarius violin and a 1757 Guadagnini viola. In addition to his musical pursuits, he is recognized as a philanthropist for his work as a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador and for his educational outreach.
LMMC debut.

with MAGDA AMARA, piano


BEETHOVEN   Violin Sonata in G major, Opus 96 (1812)

(1770-1827)            Adagio moderato
                                Adagio espressivo
                                Scherzo: Allegro
                                Poco allegretto

BRAHMS          Viola Sonata in F minor, Opus 120 No. 1 (1894)
(1833-1897)            Allegro appassionato
                                Andante un poco adagio
                                Allegretto grazioso

BRAHMS          Viola Sonata in E flat major, Opus 120 No. 2 (1894)
(1833-1897)            Allegro amabile
                                Allegro appasionato
                                Andante con moto - Allegro

BEETHOVEN   Violin Sonata in A major, Opus 47 ‘Kreutzer’ (1803)
(1770-1827)            Adagio sostenuto - Presto
                                Andante con variazioni
                                Finale: Presto