American string quartet founded in 1992, winner of many awards (Cleveland Quartet, Naumberg Chamber Music), in residence at Yale since 2014. LMMC début.
Photo: Peter Schaaf

Mark Steinberg - violin        Misha Amory - viola
Serena Canin -violin        Nina Lee - cello

Since it was founded in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim. The New York Times extolled its ‘luxuriously warm sound [and] yearning lyricism’, while the London Independent called its playing ‘passionate, uninhibited and spell-binding’. It has appeared in the world’s most prestigious venues, including Carnegie Hall, the Konzerthaus in Vienna and Suntory Hall in Tokyo. In 2014, the Brentano Quartet succeeded the Tokyo Quartet as Artists in Residence at Yale University, following its 14-year-residency at Princeton University. The Quartet also currently serves as the collaborative ensemble for the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. The Brentano Quartet is known for especially imaginative projects combining old and new music, such as ‘Fragments: Connecting Past and Present’ and ‘Bach Perspectives’. Its name comes from Antonie Brentano, who many scholars think was Beethoven’s ‘Immortal Beloved’, the intended recipient of his famous love confession. LMMC début.


MENDELSSOHN      String Quartet in E flat major, Opus 12 (1829)
(1809-1847)                       Adagio non troppo - Allegro non tardante
                                           Canzonetta: Allegretto
                                           Andante espressivo -
                                           Molto allegro e vivace

BRITTEN                   String Quartet No. 3, Opus 94 (1975)
(1913-1976)                       Duets: With moderate movement
                                           Ostinato: Very fast
                                           Solo: Very calm
                                           Burlesque: Fast - con fuoco
                                           Recitative and Passacaglia
                                               (La Serenissima): Slow

BRAHMS                   String Quartet in B flat major, Opus 67 (1875)

(1833-1897)                       Vivace
                                           Agitato: Allegretto non troppo
                                           Poco allegretto con variazioni