Celebrated Dutch cellist with extensive repertoire from Bach to Carter, artistic director of Beauvais Cello Festival since 2009. Prize-winning records for Channel Classics.
Pieter WispelweyOct. 21, 2012
Born in Haarlem in the Netherlands, cellist Pieter Wispelwey studied with Dicky Boeke, Anner Bijlsma, Paul Katz and William Pleeth. He was the first cellist to receive the Netherlands Music Prize given to the most promising musician in the country. Equally at ease on the modern or period cello, he is now regarded as one of the world’s leading cello soloists, appearing in recital with orchestra and ensembles wordwide, with a repertoire that ranges from Bach to Elliott Carter. His acute stylistic awareness, original interpretation and phenomenal technical mastery have won him public and critical acclaim. Pieter Wispelwey has been the artistic director of the Beauvais Cello Festival in France since 2009, drawing together some of the finest cellists for a week of cello recitals, concertos and chamber music. He records exclusively for Channel Classics Records, whose support allows him to record his own choice of repertoire, artists, and orchestras.

8th appearance for the LMMC.



BEETHOVEN              Sonata in A major, Opus 69 (1807-1808)
                                             Allegro ma non tanto
                                             Scherzo: Allegro molto
                                             Adagio cantabile
                                             Allegro vivace

LIGETI                         Sonata for solo cello (1953)
                                             Dialogo: Adagio, rubato, cantabile
                                             Capriccio: Presto con slancio

STRAVINSKY              Suite italienne - arr. Piatigorsky (1932)
                                             Minuetto e Finale

CRUMB                       Sonata for solo cello (1955)
                                             I      Fantasia: Andante espressivo
                                                         e con molto rubato
                                             II     Tema pastorale con variazioni
                                             III    Toccata: Largo e drammatico -
                                                         Allegro vivace

SHOSTAKOVICH    Sonata in D minor, Opus 40 (1934)
                                             Allegro ma non troppo