Resident quartet at Aspen Festival since 1974 and Manhattan Music School since 1984.
American String QuartetMay 6, 2012

Peter Winograd - violin         Daniel Avshalomov - viola
Laurie Carney - violin         Wolfram Koessels - cello

The American String Quartet, formed in 1974 when its original members were students at the Juilliard School, was launched by winning both the Coleman Competition and the Naumburg Award the same year. It has appeared in all 50 states and in virtually every important concert hall throughout the world and was invited to perform in a series of retrospective concerts by previous Naumburg Award winners to celebrate the Foundation’s 80th anniversary. Known for its innovative approach to programming, it holds several notable residencies, and its presentations of the complete quartets of Beethoven, Schubert, Schoenberg, Bartók and Mozart have won widespread critical acclaim. Champions of new music, the Quartet has given numerous premieres.

9th LMMC appearance.


HAYDN             String Quartet in D major, Opus 76 No. 5 Hob.III:79
                                  Largo: Cantabile e mesto
                                  Menuetto: Allegro
                                  Finale: Presto

BARTÓK          String Quartet No. 6 Sz. 114
                                  Mesto: Vivace
                                  Mesto: Marcia
                                  Mesto: Burletta
                                  Mesto: Molto tranquillo

SCHUBERT      Quartet in D minor, D. 810 ‘Death and the Maiden’
                                  Andante con moto
                                  Scherzo: Allegro molto